April 2021, readathon

Hour 3 – A little coffee & a little reading motivation!

Good morning reader! This is Shawn (aka Mr Geek from www.TreatYoShelf.blog) coming at you bright and early on this fantastic Saturday! This is hands down one of my favorite days of the year, it’s the start of Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon! We have almost an entire day of reading ahead of us, so let’s make the most of it!

I don’t know about you but one of my favorite things is waking up on Saturday morning, eating a little breakfast then making a nice cup of coffee and hunkering down on the couch to read for awhile! I love all types of coffee: Drip, French Press, espresso – you name it, I love it! After a long week of work, nothing is better than a quiet Saturday morning with a nice cup of coffee and a great book! Are you a coffee drinker or a tea drinker? Do you like to enjoy a nice beverage while you read? I love enjoying a nice beverage while reading (or the occasional glass of wine in the evenings or late afternoons)!

What book or books are you planning to read for this read-a-thon? I was lucky enough to snag an ARC of Survive The Night by Riley Sager (thanks again Penguin!) so I am planning on trying to read this entire book today! It’s definitely ambitious but I figured I might as well set the bar high! For those who haven’t heard of this book yet here’s a quick summary:

Josh Baxter, the man behind the wheel, is a virtual stranger to Charlie. They met at the campus ride board, each looking to share the long drive home to Ohio. Both have good reasons for wanting to get away. For Charlie, it’s guilt and grief over the murder of her best friend, who became the third victim of the man known as the Campus Killer. For Josh, it’s to help care for his sick father. Or so he says. Like the Hitchcock heroine she’s named after, Charlie has her doubts. There’s something suspicious about Josh, from the holes in his story about his father to how he doesn’t seem to want Charlie to see inside the car’s trunk. As they travel an empty highway in the dead of night, an increasingly worried Charlie begins to think she’s sharing a car with the Campus Killer. Is Josh truly dangerous? Or is Charlie’s suspicion merely a figment of her movie-fueled imagination?

I absolutely LOVE thrillers, especially those that are fast-paced with surprising twists! Once I start I can’t stop! I’m a big fan of Sager (currently working my way through some of his older books) – if you’re a fan of thrillers, definitely check out “Final Girls” by him. It was such a great read and so unexpected! I’ll be posting updates about Survive The Night on my blog (www.TreatYoShelf.blog) and on Twitter (@ItsMrGeekToYou) so be sure to follow along for my thoughts on this one! What are you planning to read today? What are some of your favorite genres? And, hey, while we’re at it, leave me some of your favorite books in the comments! I love chatting about books with all of you! Good luck today and remember to have fun!

Until We Meet Again,
Mr Geek

Mini-Challenge:

Hi All – It’s still me (Shawn from www.TreatYoShelf.blog)! I decided to double up and host reading sprints AND a mini-challenge! For this mini challenge, I thought we’d take a slightly different approach! I want you to keep track of all the characters you meet / read about for this hour (could be a main character, side character, etc – as long as they have a formal name, they count). At the end of the hour, look at the list you’ve assembled. If you had a pick a new for yourself, from all the characters you met in this hour, what name would you select?

I’m drafting this post a little early but from what I know about Survive The Night, I think I’d have to go with Charlie (even though, technically, Charlie is a female in the book and I am male, we’re still rolling with it). I think Charlie (or really, Charles) would be a good fit for me. In a serious or work setting, I could be Charles but socially I could be Charlie. To me, Charlie gives a friendly, approachable vibe and I think that completely aligns with my personality!

Be sure to leave a comment on this post with what name you selected and a reason why! You can also tweet me @ItsMrGeekToYou on Twitter!

Can’t wait to see all of your selections!

Enter your finished books into the DATABASE here!

Check out the Bingo Board!

Cheer your fellow readers!

Join our Goodreads or Facebook or Reddit groups!

Watch for posts and stories on our Instagram!

Tag your posts with #Readathon on all your social channels

22 thoughts on “Hour 3 – A little coffee & a little reading motivation!”

    1. Ohhhh that’s a cool name! I’ve been thinking about picking up Cemetery Boys but wasn’t sure if I’d like it. What are your thoughts so far?

      Like

  1. I’m reading Middlemarch and I would choose the name Dorothea Brooke. Not only is she one of the most compelling characters I’ve read, but I also love the name Dorothea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Solid selection!! I guess for better or for worse, I can’t think of Dorothea without thinking of the Taylor Swift song!

      Like

  2. Quite a bit of a choice for the book I’ve read: Ellie, Greta, Esther, Cora and Claudia.
    I have to admit I love the name Cora, even though I wouldn’t actually want to have it, too uncommon for my likings! XD
    Claudia is a more apt of a name for me: it’s used both in Italian (my mothertongue) and English so I could switch it up if I want to (or not) and there’s something noble about it that I really loves. I feel like it would sound great with my surname, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow!! You have quite the assortment! Claudia is such an awesome pick! Funny story, one of the ladies I work with just had a baby and named her Cora. I have never seen a cuter baby in my life! Thanks for participating!!!

      Like

  3. I read the Alien Next Door so I’m going to take Ripley. I like the character it’s based on and though we’re not at all alike I feel like the way the name sounds suits me, if not it’s inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m starting to really dig Kaz as a name. I’m not even sure why. I happen to know a few Kaz’s IRL so it’s not even a unique thing. It’s just got a punch to it, I suppose.

    Like

  5. Read Unspoken by Francine Rivers. Same choices are Abigail, Abimelech, Ahithopel, Amnon, Ahinoam, Maacah, Haggith… I think I will take Abigail. Besides she was kind and compassionate.

    Like

Leave a comment